WVSSAC sets new reclassifications

WEST VIRGINIA—The West Virginia Secondary Schools Athletic Commission (WVSSAC) recently released their enrollment numbers for the reclassification that will take place starting with the 2020-21 school year.

These classifications will be for all WVSSAC sports with the exception of basketball. West Virginia high school basketball has opted to move to a four-class system and those classifications will be released at a later date.

Currently, seven AA schools will move to a different classification starting in 2020, with the most notable being Bridgeport (822), who will move up to AAA. The Indians have found success in multiple sports since dropping down to AA in 2012, winning three straight state championships in football (2013-2015) and six straight championships in baseball (2014-2019).

Oak Hill and Lincoln County will also move up to AAA, while James Monroe, River View, Petersburg, and Man will be moving down to A.

With the new classifications, there will now be 32 teams in AAA, 37 in AA, and 56 in A. 45 of the 56 Class A schools currently field football programs, with Trinity Christian of Morgantown being the smallest to do so at just 72 kids in grades K-12.

Morgantown High School will take over Cabell Midland’s spot as the largest school in the state. The Mohigans currently report 1,851 students in their school, 26 more than Cabell Midland and over 1,000 more than the smallest AAA school, Bridgeport.

The AAA/AA cutoff was 800 students and Fairmont Senior just missed the cut by one student (799), to remain AA. Elkins also missed the AAA cut by just two, reporting 798 students.

Grafton (673) moved up 14 spots to become the state’s 14th biggest AA school, after an enrollment increase of 37 from the last classification just three years ago.

The new AA/A cutoff puts Poca (486) as the smallest AA school in the state, while Ravenswood (450) now becomes the state’s biggest A school.

Local enrollments of interest include Class AAA’s Morgantown (1,851), University (1,310), Preston (1,202), Buckhannon-Upshur (1,058), and Bridgeport (822), Class AA’s Fairmont Senior (799), Elkins (798), North Marion (744), Robert C. Byrd (693), East Fairmont (678), Lewis County (677), Philip Barbour (646), Lincoln (600), Liberty (515), and Class A’s South Harrison (331), Tucker County (299), Clay Battelle (234), Notre Dame (120), and Trinity Christian (72).

Enrollment numbers and classifications will be evaluated and reassessed at the conclusion of the 2023-2024 academic year.


Video News
More In Sports