West Virginia Dirt Trackin’ King, Sr. wins BRP Modifieds

Fellow dirt eaters it saddens me to say that this column has been given the red/checkered flag and will no longer be in these pages. As always contact me at [email protected] or on face book. Without getting sappy, a deep heartfelt thank you to all that helped and supported me over the last 15 years. Until it’s time again to smell alcohol and eat dirt, have a good one.

At Elkins on Friday Steve Wilmoth grabbed the point in the Super Late Models with Shane Hitt on his decklid. Paul Wilmoth Jr. would join the duo and nearly three wide for the spot. Paul snared the lead from his brother on lap 23. Paul parked in victory lane for the third time this year. Shane slipped by Steve for second. Ryan Montgomery and Tim Senic were fourth and fifth. 

  Derrick Shaw jumped to the front at the drop of the green in the  Fastrak Late Models. On a  restart, A J Spagnuolo motored around Shaw for the lead. The two swapped the spot around the track for the next few circuits. Spagnuolo would claim his first checkerboard of the year. Shaw finished second. Trey Watson, Michael Bland and Tyler Riggs filled out the top five.

In the UMP Modifieds Dave Defibaugh has been close, but something has stopped him from getting  the win. After a barrage of yellows, Defibaugh fended off Jamie McCloud to secure the win. Anthony Arbogast crossed in third. Phill Jeffries and Drake Troutman. Rounded out the top five.

  The Street Stocks had a three way battle for the front spot as Josh Rovello, Jamie Keene and James Swenskie dueled. Rovello was second. Swenskie was third, Fourth and fifth were Chris McDonald and Joshua Hymes.

Dustin Isner held off a determined Dusty Harper to collect the Hot Mod checkerboard. Mike Collins, and Daniel Helmick completed the field.

Brad Currence stayed unbeaten in the Mini Mod Junior class. Kristopher Wyatt, Cole Tasker, Declan Carpenter, Kolby Sullivan filled out the top five

After being abscent from victory lane last week, Noah Whited return for his sixth first place trophy ahead of Brett Howell, Jakob Barrett, and Alexis Cooper.

At Tyler County the BRP Big Block Modifieds were back after getting rained out back in April. Rex King Sr. fought off  his son Rex King Jr. for the win. Garrett Krummset was third. The 35 lapper paid a cool $3,000.

Kyle Thomas grabbed his second in a  row and third overall Super Late Model checkerboard. Thomas outlasted Colten Burdette, Shane Hitt, Brian Baumberger, and Steve Weigle.

In the Fastrak Late Models, former Mod Lite driver Tyler Riggs collected his first checkered flag.  Following Riggs were Wylie Ford, Michael Bland, Derrick shaw, annd Kyle Thomas.

Third generation driver Daniel Hill parked his UMP Modified in victory lane for the first time this season. Rex Frohnapfel, Phill Jeffries, Paul Baker, and Chris Basich completed the top five.

In the Hot Mods Steven Dotson added his third win ahead of Danny Thomas, Brian Probst, Tom Sigler and Steve Magyar.

Winning his third straight Mod Lite feature Daniel Eddy finished before John Cogar, Shane Kerman, Joe McFee and Zak Kimbrew.

Mike Martin crossed the stripe first in a rare appearance of the Street Stocks. Jason Asmmons, Todd Chicklo, James Swenskie, and Bob Pugh filled out the top five.

Jason Tidd bested Scott Critchfield, Bill Doll, Billy Bunnell and Ethan Drain in the Bullring Bombers.

The winning streak in still intact in the Mini Wedge Junior class as Jake Casto

Drove to his eighth straight first place trophy. Keith Powell, Carson Thomas, Wyatt DeMoss, Wyatt Watson. Were second through fifth.

Ryan Hare won his fourth Mini Wedge Senior feature. Crossing behind Hare were

Natalie Hibbard, Allen Clark, Tripp Perine and George Casto III.

Local drivers; Zak Kimbrew qualified fifth and finished fifth in the Mod Lite feature at Tyler County

This week at Tyler County **Friday** The Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series will sanction the 25th annual Topless 50 paying $12,000 to win for the Super Late Models. With the Renegades of Dirt Modified Series sanctioned 15th annual Dickson Classic worth $2,000 to the winner. With regular racing in all other classes. The Topless race at Tyler is the second oldest such race in the country. The Topless 100 ran at Batesville Speedway in Arkansas is two years older.

  Elkins on **Saturday**  The 3rd annual Red Fredrick Memorial paying $5,200 to win for the Super Late Models. Jonathon Davenport won the inaugural event. Tyler Bare is the defending winner. Also on the card for their first ever visit, the Renegades of Dirt Modified Touring Series. $2,000 awaits the winner. With  increased purses in all other classes.


More In Local News