The History of Taylor County: Chapter Two Hundred-Fifty-Nine

Party Convention Held

The Eleventh congressional district of which Taylor County was part met in the court house May 23,1902, at the call of Ira E. Robinson, chairman of the Republican county committee, who called the meeting to order and briefly stated the object of the meeting was selected delegates to the second congressional district convention at Martinsburg, June 5. Mr. Lewis Lewellyn, of Knottsville district, was called to the chair and Attorney A.W. Burdett was named secretary. Attorney B. Frank Bailey , Dr. A.R. Warden and A.E.N Means were appointed a committee on resolutions and retired to prepare them. Speeches were made by Attorneys  J. Granville St. Clair, Sidney H. Sommerville, and ex-Senator Thomas H. Lanham who lauded Senators Nathan Bay Scott and Stephen B. Elkins, Congressman Alston G. Dayton and heartily endorsed them for another term. Hon. Ira E Robinson, candidate for the state senate, was accorded the heartiest endorsement in the convention.

The convention named Edward Luzadded, Horace C. Owens and John Snider, delegates from Fetterman district; Nathan Shoryer and Frank P. Robinson, delegates from Knottsville district; S.H. Sommerville, Ona C. Jefferys, Virgil T, Handley, C.B. Poe, Webster Fleming and W.T. Lake, delegates from Court House district; A.L. Robinson, W.T. Yates and J.W. Whitehair, delegates from Flemington district; Trueman Nixon and John T. Smallwood delegates from Booths Creek district; Patrick Flannery, Charles Stozenfels, Ira E. Robinson, G. Melvin Martin, B.F. Bailey, J.G. St. Clair, delegates, and Dr, A.R Warden, James W. Holt, F.B. Blue, B.F. Sayre, Dr. J.R. Elkins and Frank A. Walthen, alternates from Grafton district to represent Taylor County in the convention in Martinsburg.

The committee on resolutions, which were read by Secretary Burdett and unanimously adopted:

“We, the Republicans of Taylor County, in convention assembled again to take this opportunity of announcing our allegiance and fidelity to the principals and policies of the Republican party.”

“It is with profound sorrow that we are reminded of the sad and tragic death of our late and lamented President William McKinley at the hands of an assassin, We recognize William McKinley an able, pure-minded Christian and patriotic American citizen, statesman and president. Under his wise administration, the industrial system of our country was restored, the credit of a nation placed upon a firm basis, good and profitable markets provided for our farmers, the exports largely increased and the laboring man given steady employment and high wages, that such prosperous conditions of the country has continued, notwithstanding of the prophesies of the Democratic leaders to the contrary, until today it is unparalleled in the history of this or any other nation and after the termination of the Spanish- American war was ruthlessly slain by a detestable criminal, an anarchist, and an enemy of this republic; and here we most empathetically denounce anarchy in every form, and we take pleasure in commending pertinent sentiments contained in the message of President Theodore Roosevelt to congress denouncing anarchy and recommending laws by congress to strike it to death; and we endorse the action of the United States congress in the effort to enact laws to suppress an anarchy in this free land of ours . We also take pleasure in endorsing the wise and progressive and conscientious administration of President Theodore Roosevelt.”

“We are pleased to know that our state is in a flourishing condition, financially and industrially, capital being invested in large sums, new manufacturing plants springing up on all sides, the public institutions cared for by competent officials, the university and normal schools largely attended by our young people of the state, and our capable and worthy governor A.B. White, aided by the other state officials, are deserving a great extent of this condition of affairs.

“There, be it:”

“Resolved that the state administration be, and the same is hereby endorsed by us. That we find in Honorable Alston G. Dayton, who has represented this congressional district so ably for the past eight years, a gentleman of intelligence, working for the principles of  the Republican party and especially for the interest of his constituents at all times and under all circumstances, and we heartily endorse the position taken by him in the deliberations of the lower house of the congress on the Cuban tariff policy, Be it therefore.

“Resolved, that we the Republicans of Taylor County do most heartily endorse the course of said Honorable Alston G. Dayton un congress, and appreciate the able and thorough campaigns he has made in the past, and we do now recommend his re-nomination for such office. Be it further,

“Resolved, that the delegates selected by this convention to represent Taylor County at the Republican congressional district to be held at Martinsburg on the 5th day of June 1902, be, and they are hereby instructed to cast the solid vote for the Honorable Alston G. Dayton for congress.

“Resolved, that we heartily endorse the candidacy of the Honorable Ira E. Robinson for the short term state senatorship , behalf of our party as its county chairman and other valuable party services and because of his well-known abilities and high qualifications to fill the office with credit to the senatorial district from which he hails. We, the Republicans on the convention assembled, endorse the wise and patriotic course of Senators Stephen B. Elkins and Nathan Bay Scott in Congress.”

The announcements of Hon. Charles W. Swisher, of Marion, George W. Sturgis, of Monongalia and Ira E. Robinson, of Taylor County, submitting their names as candidates for the office of state senator for the Eleventh West Virginia district to the nomination convention appears in the local papers as did the name of Virgil T. Handley, of Grafton district, and J. Truman Mixon, of Boothsville district, who sought the place of the Republican ticket for the house of delegates; Louis Kitzmiller for the office of clerk in the county court; J. Frank Wilson and Charles H. McCaffery for the office of clerk of the circuit court; W.B. Tomblyn, Dellett Newlon and Arvy B. Shroyer for the office of superintendent of the county schools, and John H. Henry and Adolphus Armstrong for members of the county court subject to the decision of the Republican nominating convention to be held June 7, 1902.

Adolphus Armstrong in a letter addressed to the voters of Taylor County said;

“Fellow citizens:

“Since so large a number of you have expressed to me your desire  that I longer remain a member of our county court, I have concluded to do so, if elected. I are, therefore, a candidate for the office in the primary election to be held on the 7th day of June, next. If elected I will as I have done in the past devote enough of my time and attention to the business to discharge. It is hoped that the primary election will be conducted and the true result made known, as required by the law. And, moreover, hoped that the election ballots of the voters will not be changed or forged against me after they are recounted, as was done when you elected me the last time.”


“A. Armstrong”

A taxpayer, who evidently was not a friend of Mr. Armstrong, wrote the Sentinel as follows, and asks:

“Was it economy on the part of Mr. Armstrong to put up four lamps at the Taylor County Court House at the cost of $102.00, while the town of Grafton furnishes all the lights on the needed streets?”