TAYLOR COUNTY—Taylor County Assessor Christa Kinsey would like to remind citizens that the deadline for your personal property assessment is quickly approaching.
Kinsey reported that the assessment forms need to be completed and turned before close of business on Friday, October 1.
“If they are not done by that date, residents may be subject to interest or other penalties,” warned Kinsey.
West Virginia law mandates that all residents file an assessment listing all personal property owned on July 1 of each year.
“Examples of personal property include Any vehicle, boat, trailers, motorcycles, ATV’s, UTV’s (side by sides), motorhomes, campers, to name a few,” explained Kinsey. “There is even a portion of the form for individuals to fill out about any dogs owed as of July 1.”
Personal Property Assessment forms may be mailed or taken to the Taylor County Assessor’s Office, located at 214 West Main Street, Room 107, Grafton, WV 26354.
“We encouraging those filling out and filing the paper version of the forms to use our drop boxes,” Kinsey revealed. “We have two boxes conveniently located for individuals to use. There is one located outside of the front entrance of the courthouse and another one right outside of our office.”
For those that would like to skip filling out the paper copy of personal property assessments may access a digital version online, by visiting taylorcountyassessorwv.com. There, individuals may fill out and submit their forms quickly and easily.
“Because of all of the current restrictions in place and the social distancing guidelines, residents might find the online filing option both quicker and easier this year,” said Kinsey. “Weather permitting, we will also have a table set up outside of the courthouse to allow individuals to fill out their forms there, especially those having questions.”
Assessor’s Office personnel will be available at the table during regular courthouse hours, 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m., again, weather permitting.
“If you are taking part in online filing, you do not have to return a paper copy of the assessment form to our office,” Kinsey noted.
Residents are also reminded to apply for the homestead exemption by December 1, 2020.
“If residents are 65 by June 30 of next year or 100 percent disabled, they would qualify for a $20,000 deduction from their assessed value on the real estate through the exemption,” Kinsey noted.
Dog license forms are also available at either location. West Virginia law requires the Assessor to collect a license tax each year on all dogs over 6 months of age. Beginning July 1, every dog in Taylor County must be licensed annually.
“Those residents who have already filed their personal property assessments online and have dogs will still need to submit their payment to our office or visit our website to pay online,” Kinsey noted. “Those who have already filed online and requested a dog tag will need to send in their payment before a tag can be issued.”
She added that dog tags can be purchased for $3 for dogs living in residents out in the county and $6 for those residing within Grafton Corp. and Flemington Corp.
Any individuals with questions may contact the Taylor County Assessor’s Office by calling 304-265-2420, Monday-Friday, during regular business hours from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.
Forms may be picked up in office or downloaded at taylorcountyassessorwv.com.