Hard work and dedication pays off for six Grafton High School soccer players

GHS soccer players earn Big Ten Honors

GRAFTON – The Big Ten Conference just announced their All-Conference soccer teams for the 2017 season and several Bearcats have earned the honor.

For the Lady Bearcats, junior midfielder Maggie Dickey was named to the first team, senior Ally Peters was selected to the second team and junior Morgan Griffith earned honorable mention status.

Dickey led her Bearcat defense this season as she recorded 50 steals on the year and controlled the midfield for the Cats. She also added five goals on the year.

Peters led the offense as she scored 16 goals on the season and contributed six assists for a team high 38 points.

Griffith held down the backline for the Cats this season as she started all 22 games for the Cats. Griffith added three goals and two assists for GHS while finishing second in steals with 32.

Bridgeport was the conference champion this season as their coach, John Reese, earned “coach of the year” honors. This season, Casey Underwood of RCB was the player of the year, Makatlyn Tucker of Liberty was the forward of the year, Olivia Liston of Preston was the midfielder of the year, Kylie Bushko of Fairmont Senior was the defender of the year and Rory Marple of Bridgeport was the goalkeeper of the year.

On the boys side, senior Keith Skaggs had an outstanding season which earned him a place on the second team while teammates Quincy Copeland (sophomore) and Gabe Wolverton (junior) were selected to the honorable mention team.

Skaggs led the boys team this season as their team captain from his midfield position. Skaggs led the team in steals this season and was also the teams assist leader.

Copeland came on the scene about midway through the season and ended the season as the top goal scorer for GHS.

Wolverton was the emotional leader for the Bearcats this season as he controlled the game from his midfield/defender position.

Fairmont Senior was the boys conference champion with their coach, Jim Denardi, taking the coach of the year honor.

Isaac Swiger of FSHS was the player of the year, Corey Fluharty of East Fairmont was the forward of the year, Emilio Buffey of RCB was midfielder of the year, Angelo Potesta of FSHS was the defender of the year and Jacob Branch of FSHS was the goalkeeper of the year.

© 2018-Mountain Statesman

Video News
More In Sports