Faulkner earns honorable mention

GRAFTON—The West Virginia Class AA Boys All-State Basketball Team, as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, was released recently and Grafton Bearcats’ senior Jack Faulkner earned his way onto the Honorable Mention squad.
Faulker helped lead the Bearcats to a 12-11 record this past season before a tough loss to Keyser in sectional play would unfortunately close out their season.
The senior guard, who earned 3rd-Team All-State accolades last season, averaged 22.1 points, 6.3 rebounds, and 3.2 assists per game this season.
“It’s always good to get an honor like this,” Faulkner said on Friday. “It’s definitely cool to be considered among the best players in the state.”
Grafton head coach Michael Johnson was also appreciative of the hard work and intangibles that Faulkner has brought to his team during his four years on the Bearcats’ squad.
“It’s a great honor for him,” Johnson said when asked to discuss Faulkner’s recognition. “He has been the leader of our team for three years. He is a tremendous competitor who deserves every honor he receives. I thought he should have been 2nd- or 3rd-team, but that’s not the way it worked out. Most of the people that voted could not have watched him play.”
Faulkner says that he is unsure of his college plans at this time, but he hopes that he will start seeing some offers roll in after he participates in AAU again this offseason.  
The full WV Class AA All-State teams are listed below.
First Team
Obinna Anochili-Killen, Chapmanville, Sr. (Captain)
Braeden Crews, Bluefield, Sr.
David Early, Logan, Sr.
Jaelin Johnson, Fairmont Senior, Jr.
Luke LeRose, Shady Spring, Sr.
Bryson Lucas, Robert C. Byrd, Jr.
Isaac McKneely, Poca, Soph.
Tommy Williams, Shady Spring, Sr.

Second Team
Drew Hatfield, Mingo Central, Sr. (Captain)
Jansen Knotts, Frankfort, Sr.
Sean Martin, Bluefield, Sr.
Khori Miles, Robert C. Byrd, Sr.
Brayden Miller, Roane County, Jr.
Gunner Murphy, North Marion, Sr.
Nick Stalnaker, Bridgeport, Sr.
Jadyn Stewart, Braxton County, Sr.

Third Team
Austin Ball, Man, Soph.
Gavin Barkley, Berkeley Springs, Soph.
Jared Cannady, Independence, Sr.
Jon Hamilton, Scott, Sr.
Kolton Painter, Nitro, Soph.
Shad Sauvage, James Monroe, Soph.
Andrew Shull, Chapmanville, Sr. (Captain)
Zach Taylor, Oak Glen, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Gavin Asterino, East Fairmont; Jagger Bell, Scott; Jack Bifano, Bridgeport; Ethan Blackburn, Westside; David Blanco, Frankfort; John Blankenship, Lincoln County; Caleb Blevins, Man;  Grant Bonner, Herbert Hoover;  Nick Bryant, Wayne; Hunter Bush, Point Pleasant; Braden Chapman, Shady Spring; Praise Chukwudozie, North Marion; Jacob Clark, Oak Glen; Brody Danberry, Sissonville; Jack Faulkner, Grafton; Christian Frye, Winfield; Kyle Gannon, Lewis County; Elijah Gillette, Weir; Mitchell Hainer, Logan; Jahiem House, Bluefield; Gavin Kennedy, Robert C Byrd; Ryan Leep, Lincoln; Jason Manns, Oak Hill; Jesiah Matlick, Philip Barbour; Michael McKinney, Independence; Peyton Meadows, PikeView; Hunter Morris, Winfield; Philip Mullins, Chapmanville; Kaulin Parris, Bluefield; Jacob Perdue, Oak Hill; Colten Pritt, Clay County; Daniel Reed, Westside; Noah Rittinger, Poca; Shawn See, Keyser; Ryan Shoemaker, Keyser; Zach Snyder, Lincoln; Kolby Stiltner, Wayne; Kobey Taylor-Williams, PikeView; Tyler Toler, Braxton County; Joseph Udoh, Sissonville; A J Williams, Liberty (Raleigh).


Video News
More In Sports