Assessor’s Office to mail out assessment forms

TAYLOR COUNTY—It’s that time of year again when the Taylor County Assessor’s Office will begin mailing out assessment forms.
According to Taylor County Assessor Christa Kinsey, beginning today, Wednesday, July 1, residents will begin receiving their personal property assessment forms, as well as business and farm reports.
“Residents will have until October 1 to submit their personal property assessments,” Kinsey reported.
She noted that forms not turned in by their deadlines may be subject to interest or other penalties.
West Virginia law mandates that all residents file an assessment listing all personal property owned on July 1 of each year.
“Examples of personal property include vehicles, mobile homes, boats, trailers, motorcycles, ATV’s, motorhomes and campers, to name a few,” explained Kinsey. “There is even a portion of the form for individuals to fill out about any dogs owed as of July 1.”
Personal Property Assessment forms may be mailed or delivered to the Taylor County Assessor’s Office, located at 214 West Main Street, Room 107, Grafton, WV 26354.
For those that would like to skip filling out the paper copy of personal property assessments may access a digital version online, by visiting There, individuals may fill out and submit their forms quickly and easily.
“Because of all of the current restrictions in place and the social distancing guidelines, residents might find the online filing option both quicker and easier this year,” said Kinsey. “Weather permitting, we will also have a table set up outside of the courthouse to allow individuals to fill out their forms there, especially those having questions.”
Dog license forms are also available at either location. West Virginia law requires the Assessor to collect a license tax each year on all dogs over 6 months of age. Beginning July 1, every dog in Taylor County must be licensed annually.
Kinsey would also like to remind those owning corporations, LLCs and LLPs in Taylor County that they must file reports for their properties with her office.
Additionally, those farmers who have five or more acres, with $1,000 in production or sales, along with those with five or fewer acres and $500 in sales or production, must file the reports in order to receive the reduced assessment.
“Business and farm reports will be due back to the office no later than September 1. Those who fail to file their farm reports by the deadline will have their property appraised at fair market value,” Kinsey warned.
Farmers will now have the option to file their farm reports online. Those wishing to do so should visit
“We encouraging those filling out and filing the paper version of the forms to use our drop boxes to avoid pesky waits,” Kinsey revealed. “We have two boxes conveniently located for individuals to use. There is one located outside of the front entrance of the courthouse and another one right outside of our office.”
Any individuals with questions may contact the Taylor County Assessor’s Office by calling 304-265-2420. Forms may be picked up in office or downloaded by visiting


More In Local News